App FAQs

Swalky is a new social walking app designed to connect walkers and dogs. Users are matched through specific search criteria such as age, location, fitness abilities, walking preferences and dog breeds. Our app enables people to find like-minded people/dogs to walk with and obtain recommendations for local walks in their area. We stride to unite local communities, promote mental health and wellbeing and support sustainable walking for a greener future.

We welcome dogs and walkers of all kinds! People aged 18 years or older are welcome to use our app. Minors are permitted to attend meetups, provided that they are accompanied by an adult or legal guardian. We are family orientated and welcome you to bring as many people as you like, in line with COVID-19 restrictions 😊

Not at all! We welcome dog lovers as much as dog owners. You can select your favourite breed to display on your profile, even if you don’t own it. Who knows… through doing so you just might find a friend who owns that breed 🙂

We have introduced many privacy options in our app to keep dogs safe, giving users the freedom to customise what information they publicly display. You can access these via the user profile settings in the privacy settings menu. Whilst we take safety very seriously here at Swalky, we cannot guarantee the safety of any dogs at our events and it is the owner’s responsibility to ensure their dog(s) remain safe when attending our meet-ups. For more information, please read our terms and conditions.

We store information on a cloud-based server, which is fully compliant with GDPR, and PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) compliance. Our hosting company have implemented technical measures to protect your Personal Data from unauthorized access, use or disclosure. Swalky® does not store member’s financial information. Our payment-processing provider Stripe undertakes password encryption of credit card information for in-app purchases. Please refer to our terms and conditions for further details.

If someone is acting suspiciously or out of character at a meet, please report and block them via the app and get in touch with us ASAP at admin@swalky.com. We will investigate further and take necessary action. Users found breaking our terms and conditions will be warned and may have their accounts permanently disabled for regular offences.

Either use the contact us section of the ‘About’ menu, or contact us via email at support@swalky.com or via social media. Want to get noticed? Take a photo of your walks and send it to our social media accounts and we will share! 

Navigate to the users profile or active chat and click the three dots in the top right of the screen and select either block, or report. To view your blocked accounts, simply navigate to the privacy settings section of the settings menu.

Yes you can, navigate to the settings tab by clicking the gear icon at the bottom right of the screen. Click account settings and then disable my account. Your account and all related information will remain hidden until you log back in. Check out this page for more instructions about how to perform this action.

Navigate to the settings tab by clicking the gear icon at the bottom right of the screen. Click account settings and then delete the account. Alternatively, visit this page for a step by step guide if you need help.

Due to the way iOS manages app functionality, some users may experience difficulty when uploading photos. To resolve this simply close the app, view the photos in your phone’s gallery so they are moved to the ‘Recents’ folder and relaunch the app. Confirm the notification message that appears and choose ‘Select More Photos’. Click the ‘Albums’ tab at the top and select ‘Recents’. You will now be able to upload photos from your phone’s ‘Recents’ gallery. To add more photos you will need to repeat the process and reload the app.

If the app crashes when uploading a photo it is because you have a developer setting enabled on your phone which is not compatible with our app. To resolve this simply follow these steps below.

  1. Pull up your phone’s system settings, scroll down and then tap ‘About phone’.
  2. Then select ‘Software information’.
  3. After that press the ‘Build number’ option 7 times.
  4. Enter your passcode.
  5. A developer notification will appear. 
  6. Now go back to the main settings menu, scroll down and select ‘Developer options’.
  7. Scroll down to the bottom and make sure ‘Don’t keep activities’ is disabled.

Reload the app after changing these settings and the issue will now be resolved. .

To add dogs to your profile you must register as a dog walker and navigate to your profile page (bottom left of app toolbar). Then click ‘My Profile’ at the top and select ‘Dog Profile’. Click ‘add’ and complete your dog’s bio. Your dog’s profile will now be visible on your main profile page towards the bottom. Free users can add 2 dogs, whereas premium users can add up to 8. Note: to navigate back to your Walker profile you must select ‘My Profile’ again from the dropdown at the top.

Due to current server configuration verification emails can take up to an hour to arrive. Please wait this time and try again. If you are still experiencing issues after this time, please contact us.

There are two reasons why you might not be receiving notifications inside and outside the app. Firstly, ensure your phone notifications are turned on by navigating to Settings > Apps > Swalky > Notifications > turn on “Show Notifications” and “Allow sound and vibration”. Next, inside the app click “Settings” (bottom right) > Notification Settings > and turn on the relevant check boxes. You should now receive notifications on demand.

To rotate your photos before uploading simply crop them to your desired size, click the small ’90°’ icon to the right and then click the icon in the top right of the screen to import them to the app.

Currently profile photos must be deleted individually and cannot be deleted together. Simply delete the photo, click save, enter the ‘edit profile’ screen again and repeat the process until all photos you want have been deleted.

Video Guides